J. Mech. Des 127(6), 1037-1038 (Nov 01, 2005) (2 pages) doi:10.1115/1.2113467 History:

This has been a successful year for the Journal of Mechanical Design. The production process, like the review process, has moved to an almost entirely web-based system. We have reduced both the time to a recommendation as well as the time to publication, against the pressure of an increasing rate of submissions. And the impact factor for the journal has increased steadily. This success is a direct result of the daily efforts of every one of our Associate Editors.

I am pleased to recognize the superb service of five of our colleagues who conclude their service as JMD Associate Editors in the summer and fall of this year:
  • Constantinos Mavroidis, Department of Mechanical, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Northeastern University;
  • Gordon R. Pennock, School of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University;
  • Jahangir S. Rastegar, Department of Mechanical Engineering, State University of New York at Stony Brook;
  • Madhu Raghavan, Thermal and Energy Systems Laboratory, GM Research & Development Center; and
  • Linda C. Schmidt, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Maryland.

I am honored to present the five colleagues who will take on the challenge of managing an increasingly demanding review process. It takes approximately six months to identify, nominate and appoint an Associate Editor for the Journal of Mechanical Design. Nominations are solicited from the technical chairs of the various committees, phone interviews of prospective nominees are arranged, and nomination packages are prepared. Review and approval by both the Design Engineering Executive Committee and the ASME Publications Committee are needed for the final appointment. Associate Editors maintain the trust of our research community, and must make decisions with its benefit and success as their goal.

Our five new Associate Editors are:
  • Kwun-Lon Ting, Center for Manufacturing Research, Tennessee Tech University for the Mechanisms and Robotics Area.
  • Qizeng Liao, School of Automation, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications for the Mechanisms and Robotics Area.
  • Harvey Lipkin, Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology for the Mechanisms and Robotics Area.
  • Pierre Larochelle, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Florida Institute of Technology for the Mechanisms and Robotics Area.
  • Yan Jin, Department of Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, University of Southern California for the Design Theory and Methodology Area.

Dr. Kwun-Lon Ting , ASME Fellow and Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Center for Manufacturing Research, Tennessee Technological University, received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from National Taiwan University, Clemson University, and Oklahoma State University. He has published over 100 technical papers and received several awards including the South Pointing Chariot Award. His research interests include mechanism design, curvature theory, robotics, geometric design, and manufacturing. The National Science Foundation has funded his research activities in seven research grants for the past 15 years.

Professor Qizheng Liao is a Professor in the School of Automation, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications. He graduated in 1985 from BUPT and obtained his M.Sc. degree. After that he entered Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics and received his Ph.D. degree in 1987. In 1989 he received the Fourth Prize Award in Natural Science.

Harvey Lipkin is an Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His interests include: kinematic geometry, the design and analysis of mechanical systems, robotics, spatial mechanisms, and real-time visual servoing.

Dr. Pierre M. Larochelle , P.E., is an Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Florida Institute of Technology. He currently serves ASME as: the Chair of the ASME Mechanisms and Robotics Technical Subcommittee on Spatial Mechanisms, the ASME Region XI Assistant Vice-President for Education, and as the Chair of ASME Design Engineering Divisions Student Affairs Committee. He is a member of ASME, ASEE, IEEE, Tau Beta Pi, and Pi Tau Sigma.

Dr. Yan Jin is an Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at University of Southern California and Director of USC IMPACT Laboratory. His current research interests include: design methodology, agent-based collaborative engineering, and computational organization modeling. Dr. Jin is a recipient of NSF CAREER Award (1998), TRW Excellence in Teaching Award (2001), and Xerox Best Paper Award (2002).

Copyright © 2005 by American Society of Mechanical Engineers
This article is only available in the PDF format.





Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In